The Mohs scale, named after Friedrich Mohs, is a system used to measure the hardness of minerals and gemstones. It ranks minerals on a scale of 1 to 10 based on their ability to resist scratching by other materials. The scale is relative, meaning that a mineral with a higher number can scratch a mineral with a lower number.
Here is a breakdown of the Mohs scale:
1. Talc: The softest mineral on the scale, easily scratched by other minerals.
2. Gypsum: Slightly harder than talc but still relatively soft.
3. Calcite: Can be scratched with a copper coin or a fingernail.
4. Fluorite: Harder than calcite but can still be scratched by a knife.
5. Apatite: Can be scratched with a knife but not by glass.
6. Orthoclase Feldspar: Can scratch glass and softer minerals.
7. Quartz: Hard enough to scratch glass, and most common minerals cannot scratch it.
8. Topaz: Harder than quartz and can scratch it.
9. Corundum: One of the hardest minerals, with two common varieties: ruby and sapphire.
10. Diamond: The hardest mineral, capable of scratching all other minerals.
The Mohs scale is a useful tool in identifying and comparing the relative hardness of minerals and gemstones. It helps gemologists and jewelers determine the durability and resistance to scratching of different materials, which is important when considering their use in jewelry and other applications.
Original price was: $172.Current price is: $129.
Original price was: $175.Current price is: $144.

Traditional Handmade Rings

Ruby Silver Plain Band Women Ring

Original price was: $220.Current price is: $179.
Original price was: $240.Current price is: $194.
Original price was: $540.Current price is: $434.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    Apply Coupon
    This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. By browsing this website, you agree to our use of cookies.